search search close close

Management Education Programs

Farm Business Management

fbm image

The primary emphasis of Farm Business Management is to assist farm families in meeting their business and personal goals through quality farm records and sound business decisions. Farm Business Management is designed to work closely with active, functional farmers and persons interested in farming as a business.

This program is primarily taught at the student’s place of business, or using a confidential, web-based discussion session, rather than in a traditional classroom. Individualized instruction is used to the fullest. The instructor visits the farm on a regular basis and understands the strengths and weaknesses of each student’s business. Additional seminars or discussion groups may also be offered as a part of the educational program.

Developing a set of sound farm records is the basis for the program. Primarily, computerized accounting is used to handle the complex records which must be kept in an efficient farm business. At the close of the calendar year, these records are summarized with assistance of the instructor and a computerized business analysis is prepared for each student to show how well their business did financially during the year. Each student also receives an Area Farm Business Analysis summary, which allows them to compare their information with averages of other Farm Business Management students (farmers) in their local area and in Southwestern Minnesota.

To best meet the needs of the Farm Business Management student, instructors work very closely with farm lenders, Ag Extension personnel, and other Ag professionals. Instructors must be informed of current issues relating to agriculture, because a decision made today on the farm may be implemented the following day and will influence the long-range future of that business. 

NEW! FBM Scholarships for beginning farmers

Farm Business Program Descriptions

Farm Business Management, Diploma - 60 credits
Essentials of Farm Business Management, Certificate - 30 credits
Applications in Farm Business Management, Certificate - 30 credits
Advanced Farm Business Management, Certificate - 30 credits

Program Advisors

Paul Lanoue, Dean of Management Education
507-829-1851
1001 W. Erie Road, PO Box 359
Marshall, MN  56258
paul.lanoue@mnwest.edu

Mike Boersma, Faculty
605-690-5336
1001 W. Erie Road, PO Box 359
Marshall, MN  56258
mike.boersma@mnwest.edu

Aaron Brudelie, Faculty
507-828-8400
308 4th Street
P.O. Box 41
Welcome, MN  56181
aaron.brudelie@mnwest.edu

Linda Carter, Faculty
507-828-6651
2139 290th Avenue
Walnut Grove, MN  56180
carterfac@gmail.com

Mike Dierks, Faculty
507-372-3427 (Worthington)
507-847-7937 (Jackson)
1450 Collegeway
Worthington, MN  56187
mike.dierks@mnwest.edu

Larry Griffin, Faculty
507-847-7936
401 West Street
Jackson, MN  56143
larry.griffin@mnwest.edu

Kent Janssen, Faculty
507-776-2974
fax 507-776-3379
P.O. Box 276, Truman School
Truman, MN  56088
Kent_janssen@frontiernet.net

Troy Otto, Faculty
507-530-5238
1001 W. Erie Road, PO Box 359
Marshall, MN  56258
totto@redred.com

Bob Roesler, Faculty
507-728-8400
fax 507-728-8278
308 4th St., Welcome School
P.O. Box 41
Welcome, MN  56181
bob.roesler@frontier.com

Lori Van Overbeke, Faculty
507-530-8344
1001 W. Erie Road, PO Box 359
Marshall, MN  56258
lori.vanoverbeke@mnwest.edu

Brad Verly, Faculty
507-828-8506
1001 W. Erie Road, PO Box 359
Marshall, MN  56258
brad.verly@mnwest.edu

Justin Williamson, Faculty
507-728-8400
fax 507-728-8278
308 4th St., Welcome School
P.O. Box 41
Welcome, MN  56181
justin.williamson@frontier.com


Link to
Minnesota State Farm Business Management